To develop and empower women through education that fosters knowledge and skills, promotes values of equality, secularism and national integration, moulds character through discipline and rigour and creates an open mind capable of assimilating the best traditions of the East and the West.

Department of Physics

The Honours Degree Course in Physics began from the academic session (2012-13). The Physics Department shall have two full-time faculty members and also a guest faculty.


  • Tutorials at regular intervals.
  • Assignments on different topics during vacations.
  • Well stocked College Central Library.
  • A separate Departmental Seminar Library to facilitate reference work.
  • Special lectures on different topics related to the curriculum at regular intervals.
  • Presentation of papers by students on topics related to the course.
  • Participation of students in various college activities such as publication of Departmental Magazine, Wall Magazine and cultural activities.
  • Regular parent-teacher meeting



Physics is a core subject for all science and technology combinations. Hence a B.Sc. Honours Degree in physics is a prerequisite for studying Post-graduate Courses in Physics in various Universities in India and abroad. A student with a Physics Honours Degree may pursue further studies in a wide variety of fields such as Computer Application, Engineering and Technology etc. A student with a Post-graduate Degree in Physics can pursue M.Tech Degree Course in the Indian Institutes of Technology which will enhance the student's job prospects in industry as well as in the academic field.

Elective Subject Combinations

for Physics (B.Sc.) as Honours subject
  1. Mathematics and Chemistry




Sri. Biswajit Chowdhury
Sm. Gopa Dutta Pal (Contractual)
Sm. Papiya Saha (Contratual)
Dr. Saurabh Niyogi
And Guest Faculty

Laboratory Attendant
Sri. Tapan Nag
Sri. Samar Naskar